Disclosure: This post contains affiliate links and I will be compensated when you make a purchase after clicking on my links, there is no extra cost to you
Michigan State Tax Basics
If you live in Michigan for all or part of the tax year and file a federal income tax return, you must file a Michigan state income tax return, even if you are not owed any state tax. If you don’t file a federal return, you may need to file a Michigan state return if your gross annual income exceeds your exemption allowance. And if you don’t live in Michigan, but earn income, then you may have to file a Michigan state return and pay taxes on certain types of earned income.
If you live in another state and work in Michigan, you must file an MI-1040, the equivalent of federal Form 1040, which shows your earnings in Michigan. But this does not apply if you live in a reciprocal state (Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Minnesota, Ohio or Wisconsin) and the employee compensation was your only Michigan income. In that case, you’ll only file a Michigan state return if you want to claim a refund of any Michigan tax withholding.
Michigan tax refund phone number
The Michigan Treasury Department provides the following services 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. To retrieve information using the “Internet” and “Telephone” options below, you should know
Key Filer’s Social Security Number and
Adjusted gross or household income.
Wait at least two weeks from the date you receive an acknowledgment of your Michigan return before calling a number. If you are in a rush, below are the main phone numbers:
Individual Income Tax
Corporate Income Tax
Michigan Business Tax
Sales and Use Tax
Garnishments/Levies – Tax Refunds and Magnetic Media
The Deaf Telecommunications Device (TTY) is available at 8 a.m. – 5 p.m. EST, Monday through Friday. Deaf, hard of hearing or speech impaired people can call 517-636-4486 for help. If you or your spouse has a debt to the State of Michigan or to a third party. Who claims that the state withholds all or part of the refund. The Treasury must satisfy this debt before issuing your refund. Examples of third-party debt that the Treasury must meet are arrears in child support. And debts covered by liens that are served against the tax refund or credit. If this situation arises you will receive a letter stating the amount of the tax refund and what debt was applied. Depending on the size of the debt there may be no remaining state tax refund.
Here are some things that could make the process easier:
The Michigan Department of Treasury administers tax laws and collects taxes in Michigan. You can call the department for general tax inquiries online at 1-517-636-4486 and other income tax resources, including information on tax rates, forms and instructions, filing your returns and the status of your refund.
Deadline for submission and payment
Michigan Tax Day is the annual deadline to file your federal tax returns with the IRS – April 15. If the due date falls on a weekend or holiday, the deadline will carry over to the next business day.
Michigan offers only three filing statuses for individuals: individual filing, joint marriage, and separate filing.
If your federal filing statement is filed together, you must select the same state on your Michigan state return. If you filed your federal return as the head of an eligible family or widow, you must file as a single.
Michigan income tax rate
When calculating your Michigan state income tax. You don’t have to mess with income brackets and tax rates. Because the state charges a flat personal income tax rate of 4.25 percent.
To receive a FREE guide to help grow your own online business write a comment with "INFO" below! ⬇⬇⬇
Tax Twerk is a digital platform to read about personal finance and digital marketing for freelancers and self employed entrepreneurs.
Sign Up to Get the Latest Offers
Enter Your Email Address to Receive free access today: